This week, officials of the National Merit Scholarships Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. In its first year of eligibility, Newark Charter is the proud home of five semifinalists:

Hannah Cooper
Josh Davis
Erin Dickert
Rumi Khan
Karl Theopold

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 420 business member organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.