School Council

A fundamental principle of the Newark Charter School is the importance of parent participation in many areas, including school decision-making.

The School Council serves as an avenue for formal parental involvement in decision making and consists of parent representatives, along with representatives from the primary, intermediate and jr./sr. high school. The parent members include one elected representative from each grade level, serving two-year terms.

The primary responsibility of the School Council is to assist and advise management in school operations and long-term planning. One of the School Council’s goals is to administer and analyze school wide surveys that assess satisfaction with many aspects of the school. Additionally, the School Council discusses and provides recommendations on specific topics related to any area within the school including school climate, curriculum, administration and staff, communication, parental input, facilities, finances, student activities, etc.


2019-2020 Schedule

    • September 24, 2019
    • October 29, 2019
    • January 28, 2020
    • March 24, 2020
    • May 26, 2020

All meetings begin at 7:00 PM in the Junior/Senior High School Library.

2019-2020 School Council Members .
Member Representing
OPEN Parent Representative K
Katrina Pollock Parent Representative 1
LaWhan Yancy Blackett Parent Representative 2
Bobby Ritterbeck Parent Representative 3
OPEN Parent Representative 4
Amy Stubblebine Parent Representative 5
OPEN Parent Representative 6
OPEN Parent Representative 7
OPEN Parent Representative 8
Jagan Devisetty Parent Representative 9
OPEN Parent Representative 10
OPEN Parent Representative 11
Megan Wilson Parent Representative 12
Jessica Browne Administration Representative Dean of Instruction
Wendy Boonin Administration Representative Primary School
Jesse Wakeman Administration Representative Intermediate School
Lisa Ueltzhoffer Administration Representative Jr./Sr. High School
Melissa Thomas Faculty Representative Intermediate School
Lauren Vispi Faculty Representative Intermediate School
OPEN Faculty Representataive Jr./Sr. High School
Kate Eberly Faculty Representative Jr./Sr. High School
OPEN Faculty Representative Primary School
Marlene Martin Faculty Representative Primary School